100 Premierships for Uni in the PFL

After 101 years in the Perth Football League, the Uni Footy Club raised the bat with it’s 100th premiership. The honour fittingly fell to the mighty Dingoes who took out the C4 Reserves Premiership at Kingsway Reserve against old rivals Fremantle CBC. Assistant Coach of the side on the day was none other than games record holder Erk-Dog.

This achievement puts Uni right at the top of the premiership tally across the country and if you were to include the numerous flags won in the Metro Junior Footy League and Uni Games, the number sits closer to 120.

Uni recorded it’s first official premiership back in 1929 in what was known as the WA Amateur Football Association (WAAFL). Since this time, the club has survived many difficulty years but has come out the other side in a strong position.

This year, the club has grown again and is as strong as ever with the season bringing:

  • Nine Teams
    • 4 Men
    • 3 Colts
    • 2 Women
  • Seven sides qualify for finals
  • Five sides qualify for grand finals
  • Three Premierships

There were many successful periods for the UFC, with the 60s standing out as one of the golden eras with 6 A Grade and 15 total premierships in the WAAFL. In more recent times, the club has thrived, recording at least one premiership in every year for over 12 years.

The success of the Uni Footy Club is due to the amazing contribution from thousands of people over it’s time. People like AJ Williams, Neil Donaldson and Rob Turner ‘$8’ have poured their life in to the Green & Blue, ensuring not only the clubs survival but also it’s sustained success.

A week after the century milestone, the undefeated ‘A Colts’ romped home in the Phil Scott Colts decider, notching up flag 101

As they say, get to 100, then start again!